top of page

UPDATE: Psychogenic Alopecia Relief!

I couldn't be happier to write this blog and share my exciting news with you! Over the past 11 months, we have been struggling with one of our cat's itchy skin condition - psychogenic alopecia, causing her to be a BIG TIME over groomer creating painful hot spots and scabby sores. She was diagnosed a few months ago, but we just couldn't figure out what was causing the itchiness, poor girl! After having ruled out food and household allergy possibilities, we were pretty sure her condition was due to an anxiety issue. To prevent her from chewing on her bod, we had her in a bodysuit, a sarong, and a flower cone... which all helped her to stop chewing, but also helped me by just seeing this cute sight in the house!

After getting some great info from her vet, Dr. Cleveland, and doing a lot of online research & reading, it looks like we've got it under control! I found some great articles on cats taking CBD oil. It's said to relieve itchy skin AND anxiety... oh happy day! As you all know, I do not take my cat's lives/food/medicine lightly and did a LOT of reading on CBD oil for cats - side effects, risks, cost, etc. I was thrilled to not find anything stating that CBD oil has any side effects for cats (given the correct dosage to the cat's weight). The only negative that I found was that it may or may not work; no guarantee of course, BUT the product had a guarantee, so why not try it!


O.M.G... I am thrilled to tell you that Nina has not been the itchy-scratchy little kitty she once was! She's been taking a CBD oil by HolistaPet https://www.holistapet.com/product/holistapet-cbd-pet-tincture/

For pets under 20 lb, they recommend 150mg strength and offer a specific dosage chart (drops per weight of pet). Nina is a hearty 9+/- pounds, so I started her on 8 drops daily to help with the itchiness and with our upcoming road trip. She's been taking it for four weeks now and has since been lowered to 6 drops 1x daily (mixed into her wet food) and all is well in the Crawley household! I have to add that we did change her over to a limited ingredient dry food, starting her (and Pete) on Nature Balance Green Pea & Duck kibble about 2 weeks prior to her starting the CBD oil, so this may have a hand in her better well-being, but when I had tried exclusively treating her condition with that same food change it did not help.


I am NOT a vet. I am just a mindful cat momma who spends a lot of time and effort looking for the healthiest wellness options when my fur kids have a health or lifestyle issue in need of attention. I hope my research and sharing of info can help you and your fur kids get through the discomfort and frustration of their anxiety issues :)

Here's my original post on her condition from a few months ago...


Peace, Love, and Healthy kitties

MaryAnn

928 views0 comments
bottom of page